تقوم المدارس بدور محوري في العمل على نجاح الطفل وسعادته، ولكن يلعب أيضا الآباء دورا أكثر أهمية باعتبارهم المعلم الأول والحاضر دائما بالنسبة للطفل. يقوم الآباء بمهمة أساسية تجاه أبنائهم من خلال بث روح الشغف والرغبة في التعلم والتطوير لدى الأبناء.

يمكن للآباء أن يوفروا لأبنائهم مكانا آمنا ومشجعا يمكنهم من خلاله التعلم والاستكشاف والاكتشاف، بما يتيح لهم تطوير الثقة وحب التعلم الذي بالطبع سينعكس عليهم في المدرسة. فقد أشارت العديد من الدراسات إلى أهمية الدعم الجيد من البيت لتحقيق درجات أعلى في المدرسة ولكي يكبر الطالب وهو يشعر بقدر عال من الاحترام والسعادة.

فيما يلي بعض العادات التي يمكن غرسها في الطفل والتي تخلق لديه رغبة وثقة في التعلم:

1-القراءة معاً:

تساعد على الترابط والتفكير الإبداعي، حيث أن قراءة الكتب معاً يعتبر أفضل الطرق لتكون قريبا من تعلم ابنك في المدرسة. ففي السنوات الأولى من العمر، يمكن استخدام الكتب التي يمكن لابنك قراءتها بمساعدتك، أو قراءة النصوص الأكثر تقدماً عن طريقك مما يتيح للطفل مجالا للتعرف على مفردات لغوية جديدة وتركيبات جمل أكثر تقدما وأفكاراً أعلى في المستوى.

2-لا تثقل على طفلك:

وقت اللعب غير المخطط لا يكون فقط بغرض المتعة والمرح للطفل، ولكنه طريقة أساسية يمكن من خلالها للأطفال تطوير الثقة بالنفس، التوجيه الذاتي والإبداع. إن ملء أوقات الطفل بالأنشطة التي تفوق مناهجهم الدراسية يمكن أن تثقل عليهم وتقلل من إحساسهم بقيمتهم. لهذا، من المهم ترك أوقات طفلك مفتوحة للحصول على وقت فراغ.

3- وجه ابنك بطريقة ودية:

جميعنا يرتكب أخطاءً ولدينها إمكانياتنا الخاصة للتحسن، مما يتيح فرصا أكبر للتعلم إذا ما تم التعامل مع الأمر بشكل إيجابي. يمكنك أن تجعل ابنك يقوم بذلك وبأن يكون مدركاً لتقدمه وأدائه. إذا كان أداء الطفل متراجعا أو فقد الرغبة في التعلم، كن متواجدا لتقديم التوجيه بطريقة ودية من خلال مناقشة مفتوحة ونقد بناء من جانبك وتعليم ابنك كيفية التعلم من التجربة والمضي قدماً.

4- كن متواجدا لمساعدته في الواجبات المدرسية:

إن الواجبات المنزلية تمنح الأطفال فرصة للتقدم وتطبيق ما تعلموه في المدرسة للتو، بينما ماتزال الدروس عالقة في ذاكرتهم. وبينما يمكن لذلك مساعدتهم في مهارات حل المسائل، اجعل ابنك يعلم أنك متواجد لدعمه في أداء الواجبات المخصصة له، إذا دعت الحاجة إلى ذلك.

5- استعدوا معا للامتحانات:

يمكن أن تشكل الاختبارات والامتحانات عبئا على الأطفال، ولكن من خلال الممارسة والتوجيه الصحيح يمكنهم التغلب على قلقهم وتحقيق التفوق. مثلما هو الحال مع الواجبات المنزلية، دع ابنك يشعر بأنك متواجد لمساعدته في الإعداد للامتحانات سواء عن طريق مراجعة الدروس الأكثر صعوبة أو عن طريق إجراء اختبارات منزلية مختصرة.

6- كافئ جهودهم:

ينبغي دائما مكافأة أبنائك على مجهودهم في الدراسة، ليس فقط في حال حصولهم على درجات عالية ولكن أيضا عندما يظهروا تفانيهم تجاه مهمة تعليمية معينة. إن ذلك سوف يساعدهم على تعزيز السلوكيات الإيجابية ومنحهم حافزا على مواصلة السعي لتحقيق أداء عال.

7- تعرف على مدرسيهم:

إن المدرسين هم أول من يشهد عملية تعلم وتطور ابنك، وهو مصدر هام يمكن من خلاله معرفة تقدم ابنك سواء من الناحية الدراسية أو الاجتماعية. إن المشاركة في اجتماعات الآباء والأنشطة ذات العلاقة يمنحك فكرة متعمقة حول أداء أبنائك وما يمكنك القيام به لدعمهم.

8- تأكد من تعزيز الروابط بشكل يومي

خصص وقتاً لترتبط بابنك بشكل وثيق كل يوم. يمكن لذلك أن يكون سهلا بنفس سهولة تناول الوجبات معاً، أو المشاركة الروتينية معا في اللعب والقراءة، حيث يساعد ذلك على ضمان شعور ابنك بأن هناك من يسانده وينصت إليه.

9-اجعلهم يشاركونك التجربة:

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالنصيحة، فإننا ننصت جيدا لهؤلاء ممن يحسنون الإنصات ويتفهمون الأمر. شارك ابنائك تجربتك المدرسية ونجاحك الأكاديمي وما فعلته لتحقيق هذا النجاح، وجهودك المضنية وما تعلمت منها. إن ذلك سوف يساعدهم فيما يبذلونه من جهود وأيضا سيجعلهم يشعرون بأنهم يرغبون في مواصلة رحلة التعلم.

10- اجعل الراحة أولوية

تعتبر الراحة عنصرا أساسيا لصحة ابنك بشكل عام، سواء كان ذلك في صورة نوم جيد أثناء الليل أو ممارسة الهوايات. حدد أوقاتا للنوم بحيث ينال ابنك قسطاً كافيا من الراحة، مع تخصيص الوقت المناسب له لممارسة هواياته خارج مواعيد الدراسة.

Schools have a pivotal role in nurturing a child’s success and happiness, but parents play an even more crucial role as they are inevitably a child’s first and most ever-present teacher.  Parents are fundamental to instilling in children the curiosity and passion to learn and develop.

Parents can offer children a safe and encouraging space in which they can learn, explore and discover – allowing them to develop a confidence and love of learning that they carry with them into their schooling. Many studies have noted the importance of parent’s involvement in the child’s education. Students with good support from home achieve better grades at school and grow up with higher self-esteem and happiness.

Here are a few habits you can adopt to help instill in your child an interest and confidence in learning:

1-Read together

Not only does it encourage bonding and creative thinking, reading books together is one of the best ways to be close with the child’s learning at school. In their early years, this can include both books that the child can read with your help, or more advanced texts read by you which can give the child exposure to a broader vocabulary, advanced sentence structures and higher level concepts.

2-Don’t over schedule:

Unstructured playtime isn't just about children having fun, it's also a fundamental way in which children develop self-confidence, self-direction and creativity. Jam-packing a child's schedule with activities on top of their academics can overwhelm them and damage their self-esteem. That's why it's crucial to leave your child's schedule open for free-time.

3- Offer friendly feedback:

We all make mistakes and have our own areas for improvement, which offer great learning opportunities if addressed positively. You can allow your child to do so by being mindful of their progress and performance. If they seem to be falling behind or losing interest, be there to offer gentle guidance by having an open conversation and providing constructive criticism on how they can learn from this and move forward.

4- Be available to help with homework:

Homework gives children a chance to process and apply what they've just learned - but with the lessons still fresh in their minds, sometimes it can be a struggle. While that can help build their problem-solving skills, let your child know that you're available to support them in working through their assignments if needed.

5- Prep together for exams:

Tests and exams can be intimidating to children, but with the right practice and guidance they can overcome their trepidation and excel. As with their homework, let your child know you're there to help them with their exam prep - either by revising harder lessons together or by doing mini at-home tests.

6-Reward their efforts:

Your child's efforts towards their education should always be rewarded - not just in the case of good grades, but also when they've shown dedication towards a certain learning task. This will reinforce positive behaviours and give them the motivation to continue pursuing high performance.

7- Get to know their teachers:

Teachers witness firsthand your child's learning and development and are a great resource from which you can understand your child's progress both academically and socially. Participating in parent-teacher meetings and related activities gives you indispensable insight into your child's performance and what you can do to support them.

8-Ensure everyday bonding:

Set aside time to bond with your child every day. This could be as simple as having meals together, or having a routine time in which you would play or read together. This helps ensure your child feels supported and listened to.

9- Let them into your own experiences:

When it comes to advice, we listen best to those who understand us. Share your own schooling experiences with your child. Let them in on both your academic successes and what you've done to achieve them, and your struggles and what you've learned from them. This will help them feel normal about whatever struggles they're going through, as well as feel inspired in their learning journey.

11- Give space and listen well:

Your child is likely going through a lot, both academically and developmentally, which can sometimes lead to either joys or frustrations. Create a space for your child in which they can freely express themselves and their feelings, and be sure they feel listened to. This will help them feel supported and assured in their experiences and ability to excel in their learning activities.